MPs and Lords to Watch

CaSE has drawn up a list of those MPs and Lords with an interest or background in science, technology, engineering or maths (STEM) in Parliament.

If you’re an MP and you wish to become more involved with science, technology and engineering issues in parliament please click here.

Parliamentary figures to watch

Minister for Universities, Science and Cities 

Dr Greg Clark is the Minister for Universities, Science and Cities, replacing David Willets in July 2014.  Elected as MP for Tunbridge Wells in 2005, Dr Clark has subsequently held a number of positions in Parliament including the Shadow Secretary of State for Energy and Climate Change, in which he was involved in papers setting out the government’s low carbon economy strategy.  Just before his current appointment, he served as the Financial Secretary to the Treasury and the Minister of State in Cabinet Office.


Minister for Life Sciences 

George Freeman, MP for Mid Norfolk, is the Minister for Life Sciences.  Prior to this appointment, Mr Freeman served as the Government Life Sciences Advisor from 2011-2013.   He works at the Department for Business, Innovation and Skills and the Department for Health, co-ordinating the government’s Life Sciences strategy plans.


Shadow Minister for Universities, Science and Skills

Liam Byrne became shadow minister for Universities, Science and Skills in October 2013, after serving as Shadow Minister for Work and Pensions. He served in a number of ministerial roles under Tony Blair and Gordon Brown, including at the Department of Health, the Home Office (where he had responsibility for immigration 2006-08), the Treasury and the Cabinet Office.



Chair of POST

Adam Afriyie, MP for Windsor, is an entrepreneur involved in several IT companies, including Connect Support Services, of which he is chair, and Adfero, which he owns. He is also chair of the Parliamentary Office of Science and Technology and prior to the 2010 election, served as shadow minister for innovation, Universities and Skills and later Innovation and Science.



Chair, Commons Science and Technology Select Committee

Andrew Miller, MP for Ellesmere Port and Neston, has been chair of the House of Commons Science and Technology Select Committee since 2010 and is also a board member of the Parliamentary Office of Science and Technology. He has an interest in science, technology and IT and prior to becoming an MP spent some time as a geology laboratory technician.


Chair, Lords Science and Technology Select Committee

Son of Nobel Laureate Sir Hans Krebs, Lord Krebs has had a distinguished career in the field of zoology. He is a fellow of the Royal Society, Principle of Jesus College, Oxford, and is chair of the National Network of Science Learning Centres. He is also interested in science and ethics and has written a report for the Nuffield Council of Bioethics on the ethics of public health..


Other MPs and Lords vocal on issues of science and engineering

Julian Huppert, MP for Cambridge, has a PhD in chemistry and is a Bye-fellow of Clare College, Cambridge. His research into structural aspects of DNA has contributed to the understanding of cancer. He has also had experience as CEO of a biotech company and remains vocal on many areas of policy affecting science.



Chi Onwurah, MP for Newcastle upon Tyne Central, is the former shadow minister for Innovation, Science and Digital Infrastructure. Now Shadow Minister for the Cabinet Office, responsible for social enterprise, Onwurah studied electrical engineering at Imperial College, London, has worked on hardware and software management and has Chartered Engineer status.



A former head teacher, Lord Phil Willis served in the House of Commons where, before being made a life peer in 2010, he was chair of the House of Commons Science and Technology Select Committee, as well as spending several years as the liberal democrat Education and Skills Secretary. He is a strong opponent of allowing creationist views in schools, clashing with the Royal Society’s former Director of Education, Professor Michael Reiss over the issue.


Astrophysicist Lord Martin Rees is a former President of the Royal Society, Astronomer Royal and Master of Trinity College, Cambridge. He has been involved with a host of scientific institutions and societies including the British Association, Nesta and the Institute for Public Policy Research. He is a leading figure on the international stage, being a member of numerous foreign scientific academies, and currently serves on the House of Lords science and technology select committee.


Lord Robert May is a theoretical ecologist who has held many eminent posts, including President of the Royal Society, President of the British Science Association, Chief Scientific Advisor to HM Government and head of the Office of Science and Technology. He also served as non-executive Director of the Defence Science and Technology Laboratory. Lord May has been received many awards from societies around the world and currently serves on the Committee on Climate Change.



An economist by training, Baroness Margaret Sharp is a member of the Advisory Council for CaSE. She is active in the fields of higher and further education and for many years worked at the Science and Technology Policy Research department at the University of Sussex. She currently serves on the House of Lords science and technology select committee

  • Read our blog Read our blog    Read our blog

  • RSS Latest CaSE Tweets

  • Archives

  • Meta