Board of Directors

The CaSE Board of Directors meet several times a year, to discuss issues that pertain to the health of science and engineering in the UK and to set the context in which CaSE’s campaigning activities are carried out.

James Lawford Davies
Conor McKechnie
John Misselbrook (Honorary Treasurer)
Ms Becky Purvis
Professor Graeme Reid (Chair)
Dr Emily Shuckburgh
Dr Chris Tyler


Professor Jim Al-Khalili OBE

Professor Al-Khalili is Professor of Physics and Professor of Public Engagement in Science at the University of Surrey. He is the author of several popular science books and appears regularly on radio and television. In 2007, he was awarded the Royal Society Michael Faraday Prize for Science Communication. He obtained his PhD in theoretical nuclear physics from Surrey in 1989 and spent two years as a Postdoctoral Fellow at University College London, before returning to Surrey in 1991.


Prof Sir Colin Blakemore (Deputy Chair):

Colin is a British neurobiologist who is Professor of Neuroscience at the University of Oxford. He studied Medical Sciences at Cambridge and completed a PhD at the University of California, Berkeley. After working for 11 years in Cambridge, he moved to Oxford as Waynflete Professor of Physiology. From 2003-2007 he was Chief Executive of the UK Medical Research Council (MRC). He also holds a Professorship at Warwick and is Chairman of the Neuroscience Research Partnership in Singapore. He is a Fellow of The Royal Society Council.


Nida Broughton

Nida Broughton is Chief Economist at the Social Market Foundation, where she has led research on skills policy, entrepreneurship and analysis of public spending. Nida has an MA in Economics from Cambridge University and an MSc in Economics from Birkbeck College, University of London. She previously worked at the House of Commons and Ofcom.


Ms Aisling Burnand MBE:

Aisling was formerly Executive Director of Policy and Public Affairs for Cancer Research UK. Aisling also headed international media relations for Rhône-Poulenc and acted as a director at the Rowland Company. She joined the UK BioIndustry Association (BIA) as its first Director of Public Affairs in 1998, before becoming Deputy Chief Executive in 2001, and Chief Executive in 2003.


Dr Maria Ana Cataluna:

Maria Ana is a Senior Lecturer and a Royal Academy of Engineering/EPSRC Research Fellow at the University of Dundee. She studied Physics Engineering at the Instituto Superior Técnico (Portugal) and received a PhD in Physics from the University of St. Andrews. She has previously served as a Work-Package Leader in an FP7 project, coordinating the activities of nine academic and industrial partners across Europe. She was awarded the Philip Leverhulme Prize in Engineering in 2011.


Dr Tom Crick:

Dr Tom Crick is a Senior Lecturer in Computer Science at Cardiff Metropolitan University, having previously completed his PhD and post-doctoral research at the University of Bath. He sits on the Welsh Government’s Strategy Group for the Digital Wales Research Hub, as well as the National Assembly for Wales Cross-Party Group on Science & Technology. He is the Chair in Wales of Computing At School (CAS) and sits on the strategic advisory board of BCS, The Chartered Institute for IT. He is also a Trustee of the British Science Association. Tom blogs at Computing: The Science of Nearly Everything or you can find him on Twitter: @DrTomCrick.


Prof Stephen Curry:

Stephen is a Professor of Structural Biology at Imperial College London. Originally a physicist, he migrated to the life sciences during his PhD and postdoctoral stints in France, the UK and the USA. He is a Fellow of the Society of Biology. An active science blogger, Stephen regularly writes on the larger social and political responsibilities of scientists and has covered many other issues both on his blog and in the national press. He is also Vice-chair of Science is Vital.


James Lawford Davies:

James is a Partner at Hempsons in London and an Honorary Lecturer in the Department of Biochemical Engineering at UCL. He specialises in the law relating to reproductive and genetic technologies, human tissue and cells, and related research.



Conor McKechnie

Conor McKechnie is the Head of Communications and Public Affairs for GE Healthcare’s Life Sciences division. He has worked globally in communications and public affairs for healthcare, science and technology companies for more than 15 years. He has an MA in Philosophy and Business at the Universities of Glasgow and California, Santa Barbara.



John Misselbrook (Honorary Treasurer)

John joined the Biochemical Society as Financial Controller in 1997, progressing to Group Head of Finance in 2007 and Deputy CEO and Director of Finance in 2013. A Chartered Certified Accountant, his 34 years experience extends from public finance through to manufacturing, service and retail sectors, including organizations such as the NHS, NatWest Bank and BICC.



Ms Becky Purvis:

Becky is Head of Public Affairs at the Royal Society. Becky studied natural sciences at Durham University and has an MSc in science communication from Imperial College, London. She joined the Science Media Centre in 2003, moving on in 2005 to work on science policy in Westminster for Dr Evan Harris MP, Liberal Democrat science spokesperson and then become Head of Policy at the Association of Medical Research Charities (AMRC). Becky also manages the APPG on Medical Research and is a committee member of Stempra.


Professor Graeme Reid (Chair)

Graeme Reid is Professor of Science and Research Policy at University College London, a position he took up in April 2014. Prior to this, he was Head of Research Funding in the Department of Business Innovation and Skills (BIS). Graeme has a BSc in Physics and a PhD in Mechanical Engineering. He started his career at the National Engineering Laboratory and subsequently moved to Central Government where he held positions in the Treasury, Cabinet Office and DTI before the formation of BIS in 2009.


Dr Emily Shuckburgh:

Emily is a climate scientist and leads the Open Oceans research group at the British Antarctic Survey, which is focused on understanding the role of the polar oceans in the global climate system. She is also a fellow of Darwin College, a member of the Faculty of Mathematics, an associate of the Cambridge Centre for Climate Change Mitigation Research and a member of Faculty for many programmes of the Cambridge Programme for Sustainability Leadership, all at the University of Cambridge.


Dr Chris Tyler:

Dr Chris Tyler is Director of the Parliamentary Office of Science and Technology (POST). He joined POST in 2012 having spent the previous two years as Executive Director of the Centre for Science and Policy, University of Cambridge. Prior to that, Chris was a science adviser to the House of Commons Science and Technology Select Committee and also worked at Sense About Science. Chris has a degree in Anthropology from the University of Durham and a PhD in Biological Anthropology from the University of Cambridge. Because of his position in Parliament, Chris acts in an advisory capacity on the Board and does not participate in any lobbying or campaigns. You can connect to Chris at or Twitter:  @cptyler.

  • Read our blog Read our blog    Read our blog

  • RSS Latest CaSE Tweets