Campaign for Science & Engineering in the UK CaSE
standard font
larger font

Annual Distinguished Lectures

2009 Professor John Beddington, Government Chief Scientific Advisor
"Science in Government: Challenges for the 21st Century"

2008 Lord Drayson, Science Minister

2007 David Willetts MP, Shadow Secretary of State for Innovation, University and Skills
"Science and Education"


2006 Lord May of Oxford, former President of the Royal Society and former Chief Scientific Adviser to the UK Government
"How to stimulate creativity and how to stifle it"

2005 Professor Sir David King, the UK Government's Chief Scientific Adviser
"An insider's view of science in Goverment"


2004 Rt Hon Chris Patten
Former Cabinet Minister, Governor of Hong Kong, European Commissioner and Chancellor of Oxford and Newcastle Universities
"Research- The European Challenge"


2003 Howard Dalton
Chief Scientific Adviser to the Department for the Environment, Food and Rural Affairs


2003 (for 2002) Sir Gareth Roberts
President of Wolfson College, Oxford, and of the Science Council


2002 (for 2001) Professor Sir Harold Kroto
FRS, Nobel Laureate, member of the SBS Advisory Council
“The Internet and Science, Technology and Engineering Education”


2000 Dr Mike Dexter
Director of the Wellcome Trust
“Where would UK science be without the charities?”


1999 Dr Andrew Mackenzie
Group Vice President of Technology at BP Amoco
“Science, energy and progress”


1998 John Redwood
MP, Shadow Secretary of State for Trade and Industry
“British Science and Industry: What should the Government do?”


1997 Margaret Beckett
MP, President of the Board of Trade


1996 Ian Taylor
MBE, MP, Minister for Science
“British Science: a bright outlook for the future”


1995 Sir Derek Roberts
CBE FRS FEng, Provost of UCL
“Science: the roles of foresight and hindsight”


1993 John Smith
MP, leader of the opposition


1992 Prof. J.M.Howie
“A British Baccalaureate: some thoughts from Scotland”


1989 Michael Heseltine
“Paying for Science”


1988 Lord Adrian
FRS, Master of Pembroke College, Cambridge, member of the House of Lords Select Committee on Science and Technology and of the SBS Advisory Council


1987 Sir James Lighthill
Provost of UCL